Fireflies at Night

Running spirits pass me by

Watching as distance between us grows

Like fireflies at night

Jagged movements, unexpected pivots

Searching eyes, even when closed

Dimming momentarily, faint voices taking their time

Patiently waiting, longing to hear you once again

One thought on “Fireflies at Night

  1. I really liked the imagery in this poem. I’m a drama teacher and I’m putting together an online course on how to perform poetry. I’m looking for poets to help me out by doing a 1 min survey to give me their thoughts. If you have a minute the link is https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/2Y7QGJH and all responses are anonymous. Thanks, and keep writing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

