Bartering for Moments

Reels spinning round and round

Home movies projected against the inside of my eyelids

Lingering smiles that cannot be chased away

Ringing laughter, heard only by me

 

Darkness, though I lie

The warmth of familiar faces drape around my shoulders

I am not alone, especially in times like these

Rays of light greet me, even with eyes closed

 

A quiet prayer sung under my breath

Barterng for moments, a few seconds more

I fear never finding my way back

Never returning to this exact moment in time

Leave a Reply

